Personal Branding… and other helpful job search tips

I am no expert at finding a job career but over these next few weeks I intend to become one. The thing that prevented me from finding valuable and meaningful employment in the past is that I didn’t know what I wanted. I thought I had an idea, based on what I learned in college but I really had not one single clue. I found myself grasping at any opportunity that presented itself to me.

At this point, I want to make a living off of what I love to do. I believe that work shouldn’t feel like work. I want to work from home, I want to travel, I want to write. No matter how many run-on sentences and syntactical errors I make, I still love the process. It is what I want to do, nothing else. Whew. So today I am combing through the internet searching for ways that I can re-brand myself. Here are some helpful links for you all out there who need assistance as well.

A few months ago my s.o. shared with me a little exercise that he conducted to configure his personal brand. It starts out with a blank sheet of paper (you can do this too), like a mind map. In the middle of the paper write your name, or your brand’s name, and extending from that circle write all of the qualities/things that you want your brand to represent. Pay attention to the patterns and clusters.

Let’s help and motivate one another.

A Jobseeker’s guide to Personal Branding

Reinventing Your Personal Brand

Should I Have a Business Card if I’m Unemployed

Tips to Update Your Linkedin Profile During Unemployment

7 LinkedIn Profile Pictures You Should Never Use

;

xo So

20121218-223614.jpg

Leave a Reply

