Clean

I just finished a 3 day juice cleanse. It was my own adaptation of the Hello Natural 3 Day Juice cleanse. I did some research and made my own green juices with organic vegetables and fruits using the Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor  The first day, Friday, was tough. At work I felt nauseous for most of the day and I had crazy cravings for all types of bad food like pad thai and fried chicken. Day 2 and 3 were less difficult. I practiced yoga on Saturday to help speed up the detox process. I felt amazing and full of energy. By Sunday I was growing a little tired – probably because I stayed in bed most of the day. I ended up dragging myself to the gym to sweat a little more –then all was great.

Why did I do this to myself? Friends thought I was crazy for going through with it. I told them, surprisingly –your body doesn’t need FOOD, it needs the nutrients that come from the food. And I’m getting more nutrients juicing than you are getting from 3 days of eating processed food like products. They don’t hear me though. They really don’t. I cleansed because I was starting to experience some not so good physical symptoms (heart palpitations, fatigue, anxiety, blemishes). I was eating anything and everything (see: fast food). I wasn’t making my health a priority. I was eating to satisfy my hunger and not what my body really needed. I was killing myself and I had to cut that short.

Cleansing this past weekend also allowed me to shift my perspective. It was a real practice in discipline. My health was my number one priority, everything else came after that. I didn’t go out on Friday night. I rejected invitations to do some of my favorite things. What did I miss? Nothing at all. I stayed home and nourished my body and my mind. After doing a cleanse you can’t go back to the way you were before. If you do, your body will go into shock. It caused me to look at some other areas of my life as well –especially friendships. Are these people around when I’m focused on making a positive change in my life? Are they only in support of the destruction of my health and sanity? Are they giving me anything? I know it sounds like a selfish question but it’s really not. (material for another post, another day) For example, I’m not going to eat a cracker because it has no nutritional value.

I’ve still got some more cleaning to do before the end of the year, physically and emotionally. I encourage you to consider a cleanse if you need to jumpstart your life in a new direction, lose some weight, look and feel great from the inside out. I wasn’t doing this cleanse to lose weight but I lost 4 pounds and I’ve kept it off.

xo So

 

Leave a Reply

